Australian batter Usman Khawaja has been denied permission to wear a dove sticker on his shoes for the Boxing Day Test against Pakistan.
Khawaja has already been reprimanded by the ICC for sporting a black armband after the global body’s rules prevented him from wearing shoes with messages of support for Gaza in the first Test against Pakistan.
Khawaja had the messages “Freedom is a human right” and “All lives are equal” on his boots in the colours of the Palestinian flag during training before the opening Test of the three-match series last week, which the hosts won by 360 runs in Perth.
Watch, Stream & Catch Up with Australia’s Home of Cricket on 7plus >>
The Pakistan-born opener intended to wear the boots in the game but was unable to do so under ICC regulations that prohibit messages related to political, religious or racial activities or causes.
He instead wore a black armband and the ICC said he was in breach of its clothing and equipment regulations.
Usman Khawaja learns fate over serious ICC breach
Usman Khawaja goes public with sad truth behind illegal act
Khawaja insisted the black armband he wore during the Perth Test was for a “personal bereavement” and he will contest the charge.
During training ahead of the Boxing Day Test, Khawaja had a dove sticker, which is a symbol of peace, on his shoes and bat.
According to reports, he gained permission from Cricket Australia and Australian Cricketers Associated to wear the logo, but the ICC denied his application.
The dove symbol on Khawaja’s shoes. Credit: 7NEWS
It’s unclear whether Khawaja will wear a black armband during the second Test, which begins on Tuesday.
On Friday, Khawaja said he was confused by the ICC’s rulings.
“They (ICC) asked me on day two what it (black armband) was for and told them it was for a personal bereavement,” Khawaja said.
“I never ever stated it was for anything else.
“The shoes were a different matter, I’m happy to say that.
“The armband makes no sense to me.”
Khawaja was confused by past incidents of players displaying messages but not being punished by the ICC.
If he is unsuccessful in challenging the charge, he would only receive a reprimand as a first offence and is at no risk of being suspended.
– With AAP